Prior to this, I posted one of my shows “Girls” that is on HBO. But more than the show, I like Lena Dunham. Lena is the most comfortably awkward person (weird how it actually describes her but makes no sense right?!)… There are few people that I hear speak, watch their show, or read their book and think “wow, I think so much like this person” or “wow, she is simply brilliant”. Some of you knowing what the show is like might be thinking “if that’s who you identify with you’re a nutjob”. But it’s more of her in person, her thought processes and outlook on life that I identify with most. I, too, am an “oversharer”, I am simple and blunt and I prefer girls like that.. Her character Hannah is super comfortable with her body but ironically super insecure, too. But either way, I can appreciate someone who writes like they speak; and think in a way that makes sense in my brain. Here are some super surface quotes, but I enjoy them regardless.

“I always feel that there are two choices for women..either be totally confident about your non-size-zero body and say, ‘I love what I look like and this is who I am,’ or be the person who is obsessed with diet and exercise and keeping toned. What feels more realistic to me is that some days I wake up and think I love how I look. On other days I say, ‘If I had real self-control, I would be 10 pounds lighter.’ That contradiction is, to me, what being a girl actually feels like.”
– Lena Dunham

 
                                                                                                                                        “I am anti-pants.”
                                                                                                                                          – Lena Dunham

“I’d like to say that [‘Girls’ is] about growing up, but also just about trying to find a comfortable place to rest. I think they all feel like they’re running as fast as they can on a treadmill and don’t really know what the end goal is. I once tweeted a tweet where I was like, ‘You know you’re grown up if you take your clothes to the tailor’s so that it’ll have a better fit,’ and someone was like, ‘No, you know you’re an annoying white person if you take your clothes to the tailor,’ so clearly, I have no clue.”

– Lena Dunham
