But who can say what's best? That's why you need to grab whatever chance you have of happiness where you find it, and not worry about other people too much. My experience tells me that we get no more than two or three such chances in a life time, and if we let them go, we regret it for the rest of our lives.”  ― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

 

I heard an attorney recently talking about a person being successful when they can fully understand all options in a situation. And it really made me start thinking about having the ability to have intellectual empathy and ability to control my opinion regardless of someone elses. Then at lunch the same day I listened to Joyce Meyer debating and heard her say “how many people do you not agree with because they’re not what you want them to be?” Throughout the message she continued to ask questions to initiate a self assessment within the crowd – and it was a very good approach. I have listed some of her questions and some of my own.

  1. How many people do you not agree with because they’re not what you want them to be?
  2. Has anyone granted you the right to have an opinion about another person – really?
  3. Have you ever had to justify a rude action and answered “I just want the best for them”?
  4. Don’t we all base our opinions of someone or something based on our own perspective, priorities or position on it?
  5. Isn’t the only behavior we truly “know” are the behaviors we are doing or have done?
  6. Aren’t feelings and emotions ever changing?
  7. Does not wanting emotions make them go away – or wanting emotions make them come?
  8. Do you ever, like a child, look for approval regardless of what it is you are desiring approval of?

But who can say what’s best? That’s why you need to grab whatever chance you have of happiness where you find it, and not worry about other people too much. My experience tells me that we get no more than two or three such chances in a life time, and if we let them go, we regret it for the rest of our lives.” ― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

